First cartoon!

Okay, the time has come:

I have completed the first cartoon with my tablet which I feel is worthy of being posted on this here blog. What gave me the final push was this weeks’ “Illustration Friday” word of inspiration: “Imperfect”

The pic is called “Oh Coffee, how i love thee.” The cartoon itself isn’t about imperfection, but the inspiration to finally post it is:

1) None of my drawings are perfect, or ever will be, and that’s just fine

2) There is never a ‘perfect’ time to pursue my drawing, i just have to sneak it in when i can, between all the fun, yet life-consuming duties of being a mom of 2 little girls

3) “Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.” I need to stop letting perfectionism stand in the way of ever moving forward.

So, here it is, a drawing for you, and a big step for me, with the desire to push forward, imperfections and all πŸ™‚

August 10, 2011. Tags: , , . Coffee, First cartoon post!.

7 Comments

  1. Marika Haspeck replied:

    Shannon, I am so amazed at you and your art. This is a fantastic outlet for you. I love the first post.

    Marika

  2. Patricia Rockwell replied:

    That could be me!

  3. Cory replied:

    Great work Shannon! I think it looks fantastic, and it also looks like you’re having fun with it, which is just as important! Can’t wait to see more!

  4. Amy bates replied:

    Omg I’m in love with this!! And you! What a goddess you are in so many ways. Your personality shines through this peice!!

  5. shannymoore replied:

    Thank you guys SOOO much!! WOW! you all just made me feel SOO happy!!! Thank you so much for the encouragement and the kind words! WOW again!!

  6. Andrea replied:

    Hey Shannon!
    I love your ‘toon! So adorable! I had no idea you are so incredibly talented in so many wonderful ways. Congrats on your first post and I look forward to many more to come!
    Way to go!
    ps – and thanks too for the inspiring reminder about perfect vs good enough. Words I need to remind myself often! πŸ™‚

    Andrea

  7. Jessika replied:

    MMM makes me want to have a cup myself and sing an ode to coffee πŸ˜€
    Very cute!! Keep em comin’ πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

